The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Lightening strike – a week on

8 Comments

I haven’t had a good week after my horrible experience last Tuesday. The first three days or so, I was in a continual state of panic/anxiety. I am cycling in and out of anxiety still.

What happened, was that a millisecond before a strike very close to me over the road here, I heard a buzzing sound (and feeling) shoot up my leg (s?) into my brain which triggered a momentary absence of consciousness as I was on my computer. (Better description here)

I have ascertained that my first suspicion that I somehow got into an electrical pulse of some kind connected to the lightning strike might be correct. Β It switched off my brain very momentarily. I was left with a series of hot flushes and intense fear.

So they use electric shock therapy for depression – I should maybe be feeling great. Admittedly, you have to have 10 or more sessions for electric shock therapy. But I’m not feeling good – just – well – shocked.

People often feel “better” after an epileptic interlude. But I WAS feeling really really great before – but now I’m not.

I’m not.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

8 thoughts on “Lightening strike – a week on

  1. I once saw lightning hit the ground a few feet in front of me, and got a tingling in my hand from the umbrella I was carrying. I have been pathologically terrified of lightening ever since. Bugger the dog, I’m hiding under the bed.

    Orange issues lightning alerts to all of their customers to turn off their computers. I don’t always comply unless it is right overhead. Being without access to The Internet could be marginally worse than being struck by lightning, although it might have a problem getting to me under the bed.

    Oh, once, in Singapore the lightning actually came through an open window. This didn’t help my fear.

    Like

    • We haven’t had storm yet – but I think I might be a changed person about lightening now. I can quite understand your fear.

      In Africa where there are serious serious storm, our house was hit twice in one storm and the electricity ran through in a huge pink wall. All of us were together, and I’d just said to the kids “Oh jump into bed with us, don’t be frightened, lightning isn’t going to strike OUR house!” And it did – twice. After the first pink wave, we all “felt” there was going to be another – and there was. But we were completely unharmed – except for the kids who wondered if they could believe anything I told them in the future!

      Like

      • Does it really matter? Probably not.

        But I think your experience was something to do with bed rock. My garden is almost entirely bed rock from which lightning would bounce back up rather than to disappear into the earth. This is just a fact of terrain.

        Tis always best not to promise anything, but there are always ways to diffuse the fear.
        Me? it scares me witless. But I ain’t telling them that. Nothing scares Grandma.

        See you in Saint Louis, Louis. See you at the fair. Sorry. Tis running through my head at the moment. I am probably going mad.

        Like

  2. I don’t think you have given it enough time yet. Constantly reminding yourself of the difference is leading to worry and an enhanced state of self awareness. Both of these factors can make actual changes.

    As in ECT, not a precise science by any means, your brain may have been a little rewired. Similarly people who have had strokes wake up to find they’re a different person, over a period of time they revert to what they used to be.

    If you stop reminding yourself of the difference the difference will disappear more quickly.

    I know that’s not a lot of help but fingers crossed you will return.

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

