The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

More on the wonderful Nettle

Leave a comment

Stinging nettles are pretty amazing. But there is more than just being a painkiller!

I am a peripheral diabetic – Type11 threatening but not actually. For several years I have controlled my blood sugar with diet. The HFLC Primal Diet actually. The Diabetic nurse is quite impressed! But I now also have another secret – Stinging Nettle Tea.

I discovered Nettle Tea reduces blood sugar – and it does. I am going for another of my  my 6 monthly HBA1c soon. Cant wait! It’s going to be good again I hope. I will feel proud that I have done it without their horrid pills!

Last year, I picked and dried nettles. They crumble easily into a sort of tea leaf consistency (use gloves to crumble) and in a caddy, they have lasted me over a year. They are much stronger than a single fresh leaf in a cup of boiling water that I used to have. And I put a teaspoonful or two of dried in a large cafetiere and add boiling water. I drink this over two days. And like all things, I don’t overdo drinking it. It’s powerful stuff.

Drying nettles in the fan oven at about 100 deg – not ready yet!

Stored in my Caddy.

Nettle Tea Benefits

Nettle stimulates the lymph system to boost immunity

Nettle relieves arthritis symptoms

Nettle promotes a release from uric acid from joints

Helps to support the adrenals

It helps with diabetes mellitus

Strengthens the fetus in pregnant women

Promotes milk production in lactating women

Relieves menopausal symptoms

Helps with menstrual cramps and bloating

Helps break down kidney stones

Reduces hypertension

Helps with respiratory tract disease

Supports the kidneys

Helps asthma sufferers

Stops bleeding

Reduces inflammation

Reduces incident of prostate cancer

Minimizes skin problems

Eliminates allergic rhinitis

Lessens nausea

Cures the common cold

Helps with osteoarthritis

Alleviates diarrhea

Helps with gastrointestinal disease, IBS, and constipation

Reduces gingivitis and prevents plaque when used as a mouth wash.

Has been shown to be helpful to in the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease

Relieves neurological disorders like MS, ALS and sciatica

Destroys intestinal worms or parasites

Supports the endocrine health by helping the thyroid, spleen and pancreas

Stinging Nettle

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

