The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Suicide for so little

4 Comments

Everyone I know, has registered shock at the suicide of Gill Pharoah. Why? When most of them believe assisted suicide to be a human right almost. 

After thinking about it for several days, I decided our shock is not that she committed suicide, but that she committed suicide for reasons everyone of us oldies experience most days and cope with. She committed suicide for so little.

And if, as I have, she had Shingles at seventy (I’m seventy) and never recovered, I wondered where medical help let her down. Shingles is a nerve condition, not sure how an osteopath could help. Lots of people get depressed after Shingles, even young people who have had it. When old people – and seventy isn’t old – get depressed, they should be on anti depressants!

Some of us oldies are arrogant enough to think we can do without them. That is an error. This is 2015, not 1950! Help IS at hand. Amitiptyline  is used for both depression and nerve pain – and is prescribed for Shingles.

She was scared of having a stroke – yes me too. She had tinnitus (awful thing) and couldn’t be with more than three people to follow the conversation – yes me too – but I am deaf and hearing aids confabulate too many sounds. She did not want to get old – yes me too. She couldn’t last more than 15 minutes in the garden – yes me too. She sat on the couch and watched TV and snoozed – yes us too!

I have noticed rich people have the choice to end their lives – but us poor people take what they can get. Right now, getting old is less of a sentence that it was many years ago. Old people like us can, and do just gotto have fun!

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

4 thoughts on “Suicide for so little

  1. Don’t know what to say. I am too angry. It’s bloody pathetic.

    Like

    • I found it a bit shocking. Mainly because, I’m sure she was suffering from depression. My Shingles just upped and went! I am very lucky because I have heard people can suffer from it for years.

      Like

      • Yes, it probably was depression, but it can be dealt with. She wasn’t the only one. But she has just trashed the lives of so many people who carry on and cope.
        I have suffered depression intermittently for most of my life. At worst I pull the duvet over my head and sleep. The rest of the time I find something to do. I have never taken an anti depressant although I have gotten a bit close once or twice. Nowadays I eat black grapes because they do help.

        Sorry if this sounds unsympathetic. But I would never do that to my family because they would feel as though they had failed me. And the one thing I am never going to leave them is a feeling of guilt.

        Like

        • In a town near here, a couple of years ago, there was a devoted old couple, both ninety something, who did it together. I always thought that was quite a spunky, chummy way to go. I think their family might have understood. But generally, suicide is a most selfish act and the ramifications through the family, future generation and society is huge. However, about depression – my generation were taught to grit their teeth or pull themselves together, and it’s my generation that think taking anti depressants is a sign of weakness. We need to get over that. If you nip it in the bud, it doesn’t have to be recurring. A duvet is not good enough!

          Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

