The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Little Blue

Leave a comment

The Furlongs in general have lots of cars. There are lots of Furlongs. Times two for each family – that’s lots of cars. But things are changing. I am giving my car away today. 

Mr Furlong bought a little Micra from the Misses Lettuce, two little old ladies, since deceased, many many years ago for one of our children. Well, word has come that it too has deceased. Today it is going to the scrap yard. It is being replaced by my very nice little Fiat that we call “Little Blue” because it is little and it is blue.

I am going to drive our much larger inferno red Chrysler automatic. We will be a one-car family in our house.

Yesterday, I drove it home with Mr Furlong by my side. That was a real ordeal. I was trying my best. Even so, I clipped a hedgerow with the side mirror. That kind of mis-judgement on my part will make Mr Furlong have less confidence in me than he already has.

Unless he can share his toy unconditionally, I am going to have a hell of a time. I have pointed out that I’m the one who has never had an accident and has no points on my licence.

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

