The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Humph – she didn’t like my garden, maybe

6 Comments

Us Furlongs are selling out house. We need to downsize and simplify. Of course, we are really happy in our house, it’s big, but not too big. But the problem is the garden. It is too big – but it’s lovely. Well I think so. 

I have loved my garden. It is full, wild and lush. Its full of interesting plants and secret places. In my garden, nature plans it. All the plants have chosen to grow here. I know that, because they are happy.

In amongst conventional plants that I placed, there are some treasures I am particularly proud of. Real British bluebells grow in our garden. The Columbines are stunning in the late spring. They have mutated over the years and this time there were mini mini whites and huge glorious pinks. The wild primroses come out annually in fantastic colours that I never planted. And the white daisies – just weeds really – have their special place.

Lots of people seem to love my garden – its unusual. In every season, there is colour – vibrant, tropical. It is not a British garden. There are no beds, there are patches. There is no order with little plant-soldiers all standing in a disciplined row, there is disorder, jubilant life glowing with joyous profusion along the paths to secret places. Uncontrived.

Today we had a viewing on our house. An older couple came. The wife was a gardener she said. I think she is a British garden gardener.  She ooo’d when she saw our patio, she ooo’d when she saw the greenhouse. But otherwise she said, ziltch, nada, niks, naught, nothing, nooit, zippo, zot, nulity, diddly-squat.

She didn’t like my garden, maybe.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

6 thoughts on “Humph – she didn’t like my garden, maybe

  1. Probably planning how to decimate it and didn’t like to say. Try not to worry about it. There’s nothing you can do.

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

