The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

WordPress versus Blogger

Leave a comment

I think I’ve done this title before – deja vu. In some ways Blogger is better than WordPress. In some ways worse. I have a very active alter ego writing on Blogger.

The blogger stats are SO EASY to understand and simply finding out what posts are the most popular is a dream. So, I think Blogger stats are much better. WordPress leaves me frustrated every time. I cannot see which topic is more popular than others because the “popularity” is rated on MY tags. Ridiculous!

Blogger scheduling is not as nice as WordPress, and I’ve had gargantuan cock-ups with scheduling on Blogger.

Blogger can be interlinked with Google plus (google+) and I made the error of linking it. There is a veil of confusion about “followers” – the ones that were following me before the linking are not on google+. And a lot of my google+ followers are not following my blog – but something else entirely.

Tags and categories are easier on WordPress.

The reader actually works on WordPress. On Blogger, where I have been blogging since Pa fell off the bus, I have NEVER got the reader to work! I have to see what’s happening on other people’s blogs in an arse about face way, which works for me, but is not what is supposed to be the right way……

But writing, correcting, previewing and publishing is really good on Blogger. And you don’t have to bother with an “add media” button. The best thing about blogger is the way you can switch between HTML or not.

Oh – and the last thing – comment replies are less phaffy on Blogger….

Just saying……

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

