The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Dear Mr Cameron, about your NHS

10 Comments

There are probably things you don’t know about your National Health Service. Because you are important, people don’t tell you stuff that you really ought to know 

Do you know that the staffing in hospitals is so desperate over the weekend that the poor doctor on duty had to be reminded THREE times to come to a patient waiting to be discharged.  Mother with newborn and Daddy worried sick about the HOSPITAL INFECTION that forced them to return to the hospital,  waited. EIGHT hours until late into the night to be discharged.  I bet the doctor’s mind was so exhausted by then, that she probably went home for a kip.

She forgot to sign the prescription too.

So that Daddy had to rush along to the hospital to fetch it the next morning.  And then it was wrong!

The staff were as caring as they could be considering there weren’t as many on duty as there should have been for patient safety.

I suggest that you remove all the Government funding to so-called “charity ” lobby groups like you promised before you got elected the first time.  I suggest you stop paying doctors to send smokers off to the stop smoking services you run, and that you disband them altogether. That alone will save your government MILLIONS of pounds. The money can be used to staff the hospitals.

Nicotine vapourises which smokers find so useful and much more pleasant than the expensive patches, inhalers and gums you pay for make smoking services defunct.  Millions of smokers are not smoking now all by themselves.

Mr Cameron, we would prefer hospitals to be properly staffed where staff  are bright and rested as they will always appear to you to be only because YOU are an important person. ,

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

10 thoughts on “Dear Mr Cameron, about your NHS

  1. I am so sorry that you have been subjected to this, but I can’t help you.
    I live in France where I have to pay for any health care that I might get. But it won’t ever be bad.
    I, or anyone else, will get the best care that is available. So I don’t really understand what is going on in UK. And I don’t want to be there to find out.
    Not that I am ever ill, or intend to be so, but I suppose that I might be one day.

    But the thing is that it pays France to keep me alive so that I can go on paying for my health care. Britain should think about that. Or perhaps they don’t want to. One more dead old aged Pensioner is always less of a drain on the economy.

    No, I don’t really care. I don’t live in that awful place anymore.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Do you pay every month (like medical aid insurance) or NI or do you pay at the point you use the services. And is it expensive?

      Like

      • I pay a monthly fee to an Insurance Company, about 40 Pounds. This covers everything except prescriptions for medication. It includes Dentists and Opticians and Hospitalization.
        I pay in advance to see a GP, but I get the money back.
        I don’t know if this is expensive. I just know that whatever I might need will be excellent.
        And I won’t catch some ghastly bug in hospital or be bumped off because I am getting too expensive.

        Like

  2. Thank you very much for this post. I have been thinking the same for several years — from Labour’s dismal time in government. They created this mess, but I agree that the Conservatives are maintaining the status quo, sadly.

    What you have written bears repeating many times over:

    ‘I suggest that you remove all the Government funding to so-called “charity ” lobby groups like you promised before you got elected the first time. I suggest you stop paying doctors to send smokers off to the stop smoking services you run, and that you disband them altogether. That alone will save your government MILLIONS of pounds. The money can be used to staff the hospitals.

    ‘Nicotine vapourisers which smokers find so useful and much more pleasant than the expensive patches, inhalers and gums you pay for make smoking services defunct. Millions of smokers are not smoking now all by themselves.’

    Hope you are feeling progressively better, by the way. Have a good week.

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

