The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Paleo for the dog

2 Comments

Most of the Furlongs are on (basically) the Paleo way of eating. It’s not because of religion, or brainwashing, but from experience. We have found improvements in our mental states, more energy and vigour. Our dog is also on paleo…Mr Furlong is diabetic and has heart problems and Paleo eating helps both conditions.

I am a peripheral diabetic. I find eating Paleo is not enough to keep my blood sugar normal, so I eat High Fat Primal.

All the various ways of eating the Furlong family follow for various reasons from excema, arthritis to diabetes and heart, co-ordinate well when we eat together. There are great similarities, so there is always a feast somewhere for all of us.

Mr Furlong and I and our grown up children, all ate”normal food” up to about four years ago. Bread, jam, puddings, TV dinners, fizzy drinks, roast potatoes, take away fish and chips, hamburgers and doughnuts, biscuits and all the usual stuff.

It was my sister who suddenly overcame her rheumatoid arthritis in a seemingly miraculous way by following the Margaret Hill diet , that showed us how important the food that you eat is to your health. I wish I’d known that sooner.

One set of grandchildren have known no other way of eating. I am watching their progress with interest. They must be what they eat.

Our dog, is an excellent example. He is a Paleo dog. Raw meat and cooked veg are his meals. He’s always optimistic, happy, bright and energetic. Once or twice whilst away, we’ve resorted to dry dog food – the normal stuff most people feed their dogs. His stomach bloats, he lies around looking pathetic and he FARTS big time.

Can’t be doing with that!

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “Paleo for the dog

  1. You really are so funny sometimes, although I am sure that you are right.
    My dogs get what they are given. Raw meat or fish, Pasta, and cooked vegetables. I simply don’t ask them what they would like.
    But I couldn’t live on that. I would almost rather be dead, from some imagined disease that I don’t actually have, yet. But I suppose that I might one day. In which case I will worry when that happens, if it ever does..
    And then we will see if I would rather be dead. Personally, I think not, but there is no accounting for desperation. So I am keeping my options open.

    Love your Blog. I mostly forget to say this.

    Like

    • How nice of you to say you like my blog! About your dogs – that’s how all dogs were fed before the dog-food “industry”. Before the current allergy era. If you prefer being dead – please let me know…..! If you get dead before me that is.

      Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

