The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Dogs – unconditional love

4 Comments

I think we had a dog when I was a very little girl, but later we only had cats. I only ever had cats. The roll call of my deceased cats would be very long.

It was Mr Furlong who introduced me to dogs. He never drools over them, but I sense that he really likes dogs.  Dogs make him laugh. They uplift Mr Furlong. That pleases me. We have such a lovely dog at the moment Рa Standard Yorkie Рor similar. No one knows his make really, being a rescue dog of dubious pedigree.

I loved the cats I had too in my life, but with cats, you always feel if you were small – like mouse – they’d eat you.

Maybe our dog would too, he’s supposed to be a ratter.

Cats “allow” you to love them. They even sulk if they wish. But dogs just eternally show pleasure at your company and give unconditional love.

Well, ours does.

the Furlong dog

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

4 thoughts on “Dogs – unconditional love

  1. He’s a handsome dog. I wouldn’t mind one like that.

    Like

    • Not only handsome – but CLEVER too. And no, you can’t have him!:-D

      Like

      • Can’t you breed him or something? I don’t think that the blind and demented Pug is going to live for much longer. Poor little soul.

        I don’t all that much mind her peeing on the mat, probably because I don’t care about the mat. But she has lately developed a horrible cough which does not sound good.
        Apart from that, she is fine, and could eat a horse everyday, if I let her, so not much point in taking her to a Vet, only to be told what I already know.

        “That’ll be 100 Euros, thank you. Keep on giving her the very expensive pills. She is not long for this world.”

        Actually, my French Vet is so very good, and doesn’t bullshit me. So I will have her put down when I think the time is right.

        Like

        • Oh – I know how sad that is. Our dog got “fixed” by someone before we got him. No babies! I have a friend who gets her next dog before the one she has leaves the planet. She says it helps with the grief and loneliness. We waited two years after our old dog got put down – see my next blog! We “missed” something all the time. Getting another dog filled the hole in our hearts.

          Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

