The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

How do you eat fat on a HFLC diet?

Leave a comment

Mr Furlong isn’t keen on fat. We are the perfect “Jack Sprat could eat no fat, his wife could eat no lean, and so between the two of them, they licked the platter clean” couple. Fortunately, I have always enjoyed fatty and rich foods. People who don’t enjoy fat, either because they shiver at the idea through choice and for those who have been brainwashed that fat is bad for you, would have a problem eating the way I do. I eat SMALL portions.

Breakfast – Two eggs beaten into double thick cream and scrambled in loads of butter. Perhaps a slice of brinjal soaked in butter. Sometimes bacon. or bacon and eggs.

All coffee – about two a day, with double cream.

Lunch – My favourite luncheon drink of tinned Green Asparagus blended with its own tin full of water and stored in the fridge. I pour out three-quarters of a glass of this chilled asparagus juice and add double cream.

Or my well boiled bone broth, made with marrow bones browned in coconut oil, garlic, loads of black pepper, some translucent vegetables also browned, a teaspoon of vinegar to leech the bones, and some salt. I do not take the fat off the top.

At lunch I might have an Avocado and spring onion, or sardines mashed in their oil with a dash of lemon and ground pepper, or a few Almonds/my specially toasted sunflower seeds  and some green pepper, or a piece of fruit like blueberries in a bowl with double cream.and, often, Mr Furlong’s biltong that he makes and he keeps the fatty pieces for me. Oh and some black chocolate

Supper – is the only meal where Mr Furlong’s and my eating habits coincide.We might have crispy fish browned in coconut oil, or Mr Furlong’s special all-meat sausages that he makes, or chicken with the skin ON, or an omelette. Our vegetables differ. Mr Furlong likes peas (sugar and carbohydrates). But on the whole, our supper veg is cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower, spinach, or simply a (non lettuce) salad. We make our salads differently – mine is more simple – usually spinach leaves or rocket, or garden leaves (like dandelion) with a lemon squeeze.

I try to eat at six o’clock with nothing till bedtime. The reason for this is that from Six pm to Nine am, when I usually have breakfast, I have fasted for fourteen or fifteen hours. Fasting is very good.

Just telling you what I do……you might be interested.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

