The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

On being a grandperson

Leave a comment

I think there must be something wrong with my grandparenting skills. I am always delighted when the kids arrive and I’m even more delighted when they leave. Mr Furlong and I end up exhausted. How we ever brought up five children absolutely eludes me.

Or maybe we are prematurely aged!

I resorted to the Internet for assistance. I found this really good site which I share with you here. How to be a better grandparent.

Usually, grandparents have the benefit of interacting on a level that is once removed from the day-to-day responsibilities of parents. This can make it easier to develop a close bond with grandchildren. From near or far, grandparenting can provide continuity in a child’s life. Grandparents are often the family historians, and can add a rich sense of family tradition to a child’s life. Additionally, contact with grandparents can teach children positive attitudes towards aging and help them develop skills to enhance their own lifelong learning.

Of course, not everything about being a grandparent is great all of the time. Becoming a grandparent at a young age can make some people feel prematurely old and, just as parents do, grandparents sometimes have to deal with colicky babies and moody teenagers. For most though, the benefits of being a grandparent far outweigh the drawbacks.

Yes – there are loads of lovely suggestions on the site for being a meaningful grandperson. Might try some…..if I have enough energy.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

