The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

April fools

Leave a comment

When we were kids, we used to love April fool’s day. Unless we were the fools.  

I remember trying to think up things I could do to my family on the 1st of April.  They were pretty stupid like “Oh no! There’s a spider in the bath ” or “Come and see the rabbit in the garden. ” And after the first triumphant shriek of “April fool!”, everyone would know that from then on, everything I uttered was probably bollocks.

But I do remember a very clever April fool played on the whole population by the local newspaper.  They reported UFO’s had been seen in the mountains and that a team of scientists were there trying to establish contact.  My family, like millions of others were entirely intrigued.  The report was also taken up and re reported in other papers.

We were on the verge of contact with extra terrestrials.  The country was buzzing with excitement.

Oh how dreadful it was to realise that we had been hoodwinked.

It was April 1st.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

