The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Allergy dogs. Yorkshire Terriers

Leave a comment

The Furlong dog, Bobby, is a Yorkie. They are wonderful dogs for people who have allergies. Yorkshire Terriers seldom shed their fur. They keep themselves meticulously clean – not seemingly by their efforts, but because their hair simply drops dirt off. And they are silky rather than furry.

Once, at work, a woman came into the room where I was teaching. She was visiting the building for some reason. I used to take Bobby to the lessons with me where he was hugely popular. But on this day, this strange woman entered the room. She saw the dog sleeping on his little mat next to the my teaching table. “Oh no! ” she exclaimed anxiously, clasping her hands to her face in absolute horror “I am allergic to dogs.”

Now what do you say to that?

Do you say “Well don’t come here then.” ?

Do you say “Hold on, I’ll just get the dog out of the room so you can cock up my lesson completely.” ?

Do you say what you are thinking which is “Oh, for God’s sake. Don’t be such a wimp!” ?

People whose allergies have everyone else fawning around them irritate my already easily irritated nature. So I was proud of myself when I cheerfully said “Oh don’t be afraid. This dog is specifically for people with allergies. You won’t be allergic to him, he’s a Yorkshire Terrier! ”

I will remember her face always. It said disbelief. It said disdain. She really didn’t want an allergy free dog in her life. It was inconvenient and took away the glory.

Well, I can’t help it that what I said was true.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

