The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Scarlet Fever at Three A.M

Leave a comment

 

It’s three o’clock in the morning. Mr Furlong’s snoring next to me here in our nice warm bed.

Sometimes I wake with “thoughts”. They are not always worrisome thoughts – but they could be if I let them. At our age there are all kinds of things to worry about. Health is the most common.

This morning’s thoughts were remembering my sister’s Scarlet Fever. She must have been about nine or ten when she contracted it. The adults were running about with concerned faces carrying water, face flannels, fresh bedding and hanging wet sheets soaked in Carbolic soap over the doorway of my sister’s bedroom into which NO ONE was allowed except them.

I think my sister must have been very sick. I didn’t see her for what seemed like many, many days. But the adults in my life then, showed me clearly they were saving her life. She did not die.

Scarlet Fever is going around. I’m sure there are up-to-date methods of treating it nowadays. It’s not dreaded as it used to be.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

