The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Mental health wards and smoking/vaping

2 Comments

Frank Davis wrote a recent post which reminded me of an experience I watched years ago happening to someone who was forbidden to smoke in a mental health ward at a hospital near us. Her suffering was unnecessarily and savagely compounded. It was a disgrace.

Its still a disgrace.

NHS chiefs have sparked outrage by banning smoking (and vaping) within the grounds of all the mental health facilities in East Lancashire.

It means patients detained under the Mental Health Act are forced to abstain from smoking during the course of their admission, as they are unable to leave the premises.

Bosses said the policy, which also covers e-cigarettes, follows national guidance and patients will instead be offered nicotine replacement therapy, such as patches or chewing gum.

But staff and campaigners have raised serious concerns, saying the ban could lead to increased agitation, aggression and violence on the wards.

One nurse, who asked not to be named for fear of being disciplined, said: “What I have observed so far is a significant increase in patient harm due to the ban. Violence has increased, with emotional distress and frustration subsequently having a detrimental effect on patients.”

This includes banning vaping? What is the world coming to?  There are some places where banning smoking/vaping is NOT appropriate!

And NOT wise.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “Mental health wards and smoking/vaping

  1. I do so agree. It is an unnecessary cruelty, but I am tired of defending a right when there is nothing I can do. Tell me if I can, and I will.

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

