The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

On being late

2 Comments

This is the first day of 2015. Mr Furlong and I are HERE! We are not late for 2015.

Many years ago, I was always late for everything. I was late even before I had children. Children always make you late. Or so one could say as a good excuse.

One day, the lecturer corralled me next to the lecture room. He said “I want to talk to you about being late. When you are late you change the lives of all the other people around you. You affect their Karma. Being late is a serious issue. Have you ever thought that by being late, you could be HARMING other people?”

I looked at him in astonishment. Instantly illuminated by someone who actually cared for me – or cared for all the others I had “harmed” in my life of lateness, I made an internal vow to never be late again. I have stuck to that promise to myself for many years now.

I found not being late brought a sort of tranquility. I found, even with children, with planning and forethought, we could all be on time.

Not being late as a habit is one of those feel good behaviours that Mr Furlong and I try to practise. We are not perfect.

But we are on time today – it’s 2015!

I do hope that everyone else who is on time for 2015  has a satisfactory year.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “On being late

  1. I remember working as a credit controller many years ago, and I phoned a client to ask for money that was owed. I was told that he was late. So I asked if her could phone me when he got in. The lady on the phone said again that he was late. So I asked what time they were expecting him… She said that I didn’t understand – he was late. I said I did understand – please get him to phone me when he arrived for work. She said – He’s DEAD! I said – “Well why didn’t you just say that in the first place!” and hung up….. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

