The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Why MY mother was a better grandmother than I am

Leave a comment

My first marriage was a disaster and we separated – my mother stepped in as her own mother had done before. We did not live with her, but we became the focus of her life especially as my own sister had immigrated to England. My mother by now had collected some “fame” by writing books. We were expected to be at every book launch, talk, slide show etc that was occurring in her life. We did this because she expected us to and she was very able to make me comply with most of her demands. I did not enjoy any of it really – she showed us off to her acquaintances – of which she seemed to know many – and I think she felt a pride in us. I endured. I was single. I was beholden to her as she had arranged for me to train as a teacher.

I believe my mother – Gor – as she now became known having entered into middle age, was always very lonely. I think if she’d still been a married lady, she would have been quite different, less stern, more fun loving. “Fun” was an aspect missing from my childhood. Anyway, because the city she lived in was so far away, when she wanted her grandchildren to stay, I would drive halfway and she would meet me halfway, and she would take the children and return them likewise. I am very grateful to her for having my children as she did, for it freed me for a weekend now and again.

Especially seeing I was now a mature student, seriously studying.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

