The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Babysitting – Remembering grandmothers

Leave a comment

My grandmother might have been good by looking after my sister and I when we were little but when I had children, before my second marriage to Mr Furlong, we got very little help. My first husband’s parents used to baby-sit for us occasionally on a rare evening under quiet duress. They did not enjoy it and made us feel very guilty for asking them to endure such a thing. If we were “late” – they used to be very short with us. They never, as far as I remember, ever looked after our children during the day – even though we did not have a “maid” to do it for us. We used to go out a lot – all the children could sleep anywhere under any conditions so we just took them with us.

My  own mother did not baby-sit  at all because she lived in another city and she loathed my husband and he her. My father took no interest in his grandchildren and died at fifty-nine. My Grandparents on my father’s side had died by then, but my own grandmother also took no interest in her great-grandchildren.

I think all these grandparents might have liked my children, though they never said. They never indicated in anyway that my children were particularly meaningful to them.

I had no good role models.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

