The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Filling our emptiness

Leave a comment

Mr Furlong and I are useless consumers. We don’t buy anything unless we really need it – usually because it can’t be repaired.  Always been like that. We are not the only ones who have escaped being driven by the “want” society.

I was in a shop recently – the second-hand shop  (naturally). An old lady was  looking for antimacassars for the arms of her chair.  She said “There are holes in the upholstery – I just want to cover them up. It’s my favourite comfortable chair. There’s nothing else wrong with it.” and then she added “Why buy a new chair when I might only need the one I’ve  got for another ten years?”

Well, exactly.

It might be easier for us oldies not to be consumers because we weren’t brought up to be consumers and we’re old.  It’s more difficult when you’re young and collecting your life stuff, whilst we are giving ours away!

But, hang on. If you have time, (an hour) watch this thought-provoking video. Maybe becoming non consumers isn’t a bad idea. Why fill our emptiness with “things”?

This is a secular video – but even THEY recognise “emptiness”.

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

