The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

How I ended up on the diabetic register

2 Comments

Some years ago, I went on a health binge – juicing! It wasn’t long before I had to visit the doctor with some trivial problem. He took blood. On my return visit he announced my sugar was high and that I was a type 2 diabetic and must have an HBA1c – long term sugar test – and you guessed – my sugar was high.

 I went into denial about the “diabetes” and discovered several clinical studies about juicing driving up sugar. But now, I had to endure the attentions of the Health Centre requests for tests, diets and further HBA1c’s. All these I declined and I stopped juicing on the premise that my sugar would simply fall back to normal. But it didn’t.
Mr Furlong is a fully medicated diabetic – struggling with side effects from the medications, having had no side effects from diabetes and no symptoms of diabetes – diagnosed only by the blood test.
I wasn’t going to suffer the same fate!
So I set out to find the eating plan that would reduce my morning sugar readings. I was not successful. But hubby discovered that bread sent his reading through the roof. We removed bread from our life. It didn’t help the morning readings of either of us. We were following good diabetic eating plan a la the National Health Service and dieticians instructions. It was useless.
For at least six months I tried every single food addition said to reduce blood sugar like cinnamon, turmeric, starvation, fasting and all the rest – no joy.
As last ditch effort I thought I’d try the Palaeolithic diet – or Caveman diet. And follow it as best I could whilst living in the modern world. Well, the results were dramatic. In a week my sugar was normal. For a while.  On the Paleo diet it was very easy to overeat on the foods I liked – fruit, nuts, raisins, dried fruit, sweet potatoes, honey and I made wonderful Almond bread.  All these are full of sugar and carbohydrates  – my enemy. No, every diabetic’s enemy.
So simply eating as much as you like on Paleo is not the answer – there are so many delicious things to eat!
It’s EATING that’s the problem for diabetics! But I found another way that is the solution. I use fat as fuel. Works for ME.
Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “How I ended up on the diabetic register

  1. Sorry, Can’t hack this. The best diet I have ever come across is just plain alcohol. I am not allergic to alcohol, beyond the odd hangover, which is never as bad as a food hangover.
    I am currently drinking a large Vodka and munching on a packet of sweets. I have eaten no food today.
    I expect to wake up tomorrow feeling absolutely fine. I’ll let you know.

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

