The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Bill Hicks

Leave a comment

“Today a young man on acid realized that all matter is merely energy condensed to a slow vibration, that we are all one consciousness experiencing itself subjectively, there is no such thing as death, life is only a dream, and we are the imagination of ourselves. Here’s Tom with the weather.” Bill Hicks 1961-1994

This is one of my favourite quotes of all time!

Bill Hicks died young. Most of the comedy he did, pointed out our stupidity as humans. His humour made us squirm. He was a smoker. That was his crime. But he didn’t die because of smoking.   Some of those who committed the crime of living fast and dying young, lived fast and died WISE, which is more than can be said for tight, terrified, mean, righteous antis and prohibitionists nowadays.

In the UK here, we have little people inciting fear everywhere, about smoking, vaping, alcohol, sugar, salt, FAT and-god-knows-what-else which have to be banned to control us ordinary people because we don’t know any better.

I do think we eat wrongly. That is the fault of the tight, terrified, mean, righteous antis spreading imaginary ideas on salt and fat and telling us to eat carbohydrates in the form of breads, cereals etc and five fruits and veg a day and “low fat”. The “healthy plate” guide used in the UK is a laugh. Our health leaders are really clueless. Personally, I eat high fat, high protein, ignore the salt, no carbohydrates, no sugar and no commercial foods. I do that, because I discovered eating this way, makes me feel good and keeps my arthritis and diabetes under control without profit to Big Pharma.

When I watch how our leaders behave on every front, I am convinced none of them know what they are doing. Currently Bill Hick’s idea of “the imagination of themselves” contains very little wisdom and a lot of pompous ignorant prattle. I would love to hear Bill Hick’s insights about them today. They would be deliciously cringe-worthy.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

