The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Wakefield again – MMR revived

11 Comments

I was always interested in the Wakefield affair. In fact, as medicine progresses  we find many things that ten years ago might have been thrown out ARE true. In my own life I have met parents that are adamant MMR vaccinations caused their children’s autism

The Furlong family’s grand children all received Measles, Mumps and Rubella vaccinations separately, just in case. It’s only the cost that stops Governments doing that too – do you think they are actually worried about our health? It’s really about how much we COST.

From the British Medical Journal Editorial (link above) quote – “Over the following decade, epidemiological studies consistently found no evidence of a link between the MMR vaccine and autism”

Oh yeah?

From Here “I regret that my coauthors and I omitted statistically significant information in our 2004 article published in the journal Pediatrics. The omitted data suggested that African American males who received the MMR vaccine before age 36 months were at increased risk for autism. Decisions were made regarding which findings to report after the data were collected, and I believe that the final study protocol was not followed.”

If it interests you – read here. And here.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

11 thoughts on “Wakefield again – MMR revived

  1. Linked from your BMJ post, goodness Mrs furlong you sound more like me than I do.
    My grandson showed signs the day after MMR. Wakefield was an inconvenient truth in my opinion.

    Like

      • I don’t share your optimism unfortunately. It would have to be huge and irrefutable.

        Like

        • Confirmation bias rears it’s ugly head again, you will never find what you are determined not to look for. That’s where it is more !settled science”

          Like

          • Yes but in reality more like all of it, you only have to and be able to know what they want you too. We look at statins and MMR, why would anything else be any different. Tell me one lie and I’ll question everything but no-one does do they “the doctor says” It’s gospel till proved otherwise, it won’t be because they won’t let it happen. They’d scare you witless first.
            In my world it’s questionable till proved otherwise.
            If you can be frightened and most people are, you can be controlled. I am in the minority that you cannot frighten me.
            My only concern is what I have, not what I may get. We’re playing someone else’s game here. And it isn’t for our benefit, however it may seem. They really aren’t that clever but they are prepared to ruin your life for their own continuance and aggrandisation. It’s a travesty.

            Like

              • Sorry Mrs Furlong I can get a little over excitable in these areas.
                That said I don’t think I’m wrong. Makes I mad, really mad.

                The bottom line is these people are prepared to kill, even if unknowingly, to maintain their position. In our modern reality doctor equates to de facto deity. Not a position they would voluntarily relinquish.

                The bottom line, beneath all others, is we have allowed all that were once services to morph into authorities. They have attained power and they are determined to keep it. Whatever it takes.

                Democracy and self determination, there’s a couple of ideas.

                From the practice nurse to the WHO, often unwittingly, corporate facilitators all. Makes I mad. Sorry again.

                Like

                • I think the problem is with the SYSTEM. in the UK, NHS doctors have to follow the rules, tick the boxes, and claim the money. Somehow, they have been completely zombified by the SYSTEM. I don’t know how private doctors work, because I can’t afford to use them!

                  Everyone I know, is aware that doctors have been zombified.

                  I can see that the SYSTEM is there to see that bad doctors can be controlled. But zombification is not a good thing.

                  Above that, are those that put the SYSTEM in place. They are corrupt in that they are in bed with Big Pharma. THEY are the problem – the deities to the medical doctors with the power of life and death.

                  As well as all that people are scared by the media spouting “science”. And, boy, does it marinade the population in fear! Science is the new religion. It produces medical FACTS.

                  So between the zombies, the Gods and the dogma, it’s a mess!

                  Like

                  • It is indeed a mess but the doctors are portrayed as all seeing and all knowing and that’s the way they, the doctors, like it.

                    It no longer matters what the subject in hand is a “doctor” has said it is so, so it must be right. De facto deity.

                    If “I” thought the rules were hurting people, and some of them know, I couldn’t follow them, whatever the consequences.

                    Like

  2. Confirmation bias rears it’s ugly head again, you will never find what you are determined not to look for. That’s where it is, more “settled science” Oh for an edit function.

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

