The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

1939 Meditation for this morning

5 Comments

I found this 1939 film of England’s “Great North Road” The A1, before World War Two, strangely fascinating. It took my mind away into surprise at the tranquility of it, the lack of traffic, the view of the country and towns from before I was born and the wondering if many of the buildings might still be there.  This was England’s busy road before the bombing, the death, the rationing, the suffering that came with the war. In August 1939 the future was becoming clear. I wondered why the film was made – was it to capture the peaceful present for those like me from the future, who are interested in such things – for History?

If you have time to wander off in your mind – enjoy The Great North Road in your mental time machine.

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

5 thoughts on “1939 Meditation for this morning

  1. It would be interesting if someone was to make the same video again in now time….

    Like

  2. Lovely – it looks so peaceful. My hubby recognised most of the towns because he used to live near there, not in 1939 though!

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

