The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

The gentle giant dog

2 Comments

We were out picking blackberries the other day, when a large vehicle pulled up at the gate of the field we were in. Out of the corner of my eye I thought I saw a Jersey calf being off loaded.

But it was a dog. It was the biggest dog I have ever seen. On inquiry I discovered it was an Old English Mastiff. They are indeed very interesting dogs.

The Mastiff is a very massive, powerful, muscular dog. Dominance levels vary, even within the same litter, but it is often called a gentle giant. A born guard dog, the Mastiff rarely barks, but it is in its nature to defend its territory and family, and is more a silent guard rather than a barker. When an intruder is caught the dog is more likely to hold them at bay, either by trapping them in a corner or lying on top of them rather than an all-out attack.

The average weight of the Old English “gentle giant” is 110kg. And they are inclined to be “indolent”. I’d hate to have and indolent 110kg lying on top of me!

The dog in the field was called “Cooper”. Here he is –

IMG-20140905-00731

Cooper

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “The gentle giant dog

  1. Hes beautiful. Wouldn’t want him lying on me neither!

    Liked by 1 person

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

