The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Sorting books and feeling depressed

Leave a comment

We used to have a little meditation room and I used to meditate in it. Trouble is, it got taken over by the Furlong granddaughter on babysitting days and ended up being “the baby’s room”. Now there are two “babies” so they each got a room. But I have decided to move them both into one room and take my meditation room back.

Lining the walls are hundreds of books – most on interesting topics both scientific, spiritual and mysterious. I am sorting books. They are depressing me. I have read a lot of them in my time. None of them are religious books except the Quran, The book of Mormon, and my grandmother’s large concord Bible.

I have never been religious. But I have been interested in spiritual/mystical things. There is a great difference.  Spirituality and subtle things that people use to grow their inner lives, is not about dogma and creed. The subtle ideas are accessories on a journey.  I have lost my way.  I have noticed how other people who were “on a journey”, my friends and family, are no longer on a journey either. The magic of that way of thinking seems to have dissipated. I think I need my meditation room again to find my way back

The New Atheists and fundamentalists like Richard Dawkins, and others that demand hard science instead of acknowledging  inner exploration and experiences make a different kind of “knowledge” have ruined my own journey. They would call it delusion, illusion or fantasy. Neurological Science tracks which part of the brain is firing when we meditate or take hallucinogenic drugs or are in a state of joy, and makes the experience seem simply mechanically ordinary.

I have several Dawkins, Dennet, Christopher Hitchens type books. The books make me feel  spiritually castrated along with millions of other readers in our Humanist/Secular United Kingdom probably. THOSE are the books I’m going to chuck out!

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

