The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Fallen Sparrows

Leave a comment

The Furlong dog killed a young sparrow the other day. He looked shocked, even astonished afterwards. He doesn’t kill often. But it’s in his genes being a Yorkshire Terrier bred to kill rats.

He left the little corpse that had one second before been a living creature, lying on the patio and ran into the house, quite obviously distressed.

Mr Furlong and I went out to pick it up.

It was a profound moment for me. I quoted Matthew 10:29 ” Not even a sparrow, worth only half a penny, can fall to the ground without your Father knowing it.”

I am not religious, but I think the life stream of the cosmos registered the loss of one small sparrow. How much more is it registering the war and suffering going on here on our small planet?

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

