The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Dogs and nettles – solution

2 Comments

The Furlong dog has just been to the vet again. In chatting to the vet, I said “Why is it he can stick his nose on a stinging nettle and doesn’t seem to get stung?” And the vet said “Oh, they DO! Dogs get as badly stung as humans do.”

So after some research, I find dogs with less fur on their underparts are easily stung on the unprotected skin. The Furlong dog has far less fur on his underneath than on the top of him, and I notice, the first sniff on a nettle has never caused him to run into a patch, or roll about in it as he has done with other plants or long grasses. So maybe he’s not so stupid sniffing first.

I use nettles for all sorts of things in my life, from pain management, to drying them for tea, to blood sugar control (diabetes) or hayfever.

I am an expert on STINGS! The best way to stop the sting is not all the old myths about dock leaves, or cold cloths, or bicarbonate of soda or camomile.  The best way is to use BAKING POWDER mixed with a little water. That applied to the skin on dogs or humans really does the trick.

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

2 thoughts on “Dogs and nettles – solution

  1. Some people I have heard of beat the knees with nettles if they have bad knees.

    Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

