The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Harvest mite hell and solution

Leave a comment

On Sunday, the Furlong family collected for a picnic celebration. It was hot and sunny. A really lovely English summer day. Our wooden picnic table was one permanently affixed in a shady place next to a small forest enclosed in a  wooden railing. My folding chair kept on threatening to collapse so I moved it over to lean against the forest fence. There I could see everyone and delight in having everyone so happily together. I really LIKE my family. I was happy.

But unknown, unfelt, secretly, an invasion was happening. It happened to me worse than anyone else as it always does. Little pattering feet were running up my pink cotton skirt and loose top and negotiating with other fellow harvest mites for the best, softest, most delicious places to feed on me.

I have an allergic reaction to the nasty chemical they pump into me to liquidise my epidermis. I react by developing HUGE painful blisters. And i get really sick with flu like symptoms.

Harvest mites construct a chimney through the outer layer of skin – an entry, feeding tube and an escape hatch. They make an unbearable itch whilst alive. So the secret is to kill the little buggers stone dead because they will torture me for a week or more. I learned that a scabies lotion will do the job just fine. No other solution works. SCABIES LOTION dabbed on each bite as soon as I can feel the hard “chimney”. That chimney – a hard centre – confirms to me its harvest mite rather than midges or mosquitoes.

Here is edifying information on Harvest Mites

It ends Quote – Conservation Status – Neotrombicula autumnalis is widespread throughout its natural habitats and is not considered to be an endangered species. End quote

I bet it bloody isn’t and I wish it was!

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

