The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

In the country

Leave a comment

Mr Furlong and I love it in the country. What amazing luck got us living here. We never crave the excitement of the city. Been there, worn the Tee shirt. That was when we were very young. Of course, at that time, we never thought of ourselves as “very young”. I suppose we must have considered ourselves sophisticated adults. The thing that drew us together was our love of jazz.

We still like the same music.

And most fortunately, Mr Furlong and I like many of the same things. We are both careful with money. We ask each other for guidance when taking big decisions or spending large sums of it. I think living with someone who squanders must be awful. We both like old stuff rather than mass produced consumer trash. We don’t mind wearing clothes that were designed by the House of Threadbare. We don’t consider ourselves posh. We never have to keep up with the Jones’s. We mostly feel very comfortable with each other.

If we sound like a perfect couple – don’t believe it. Mr Furlong has very irritating ways which drive me crazy. It is only I that is the perfect partner. I am never irritating and I am always right.

But the one thing we always agree on, is that we LIKE living in the country – together.

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

