The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Hot water for baths in the old days

Leave a comment

When I was young, I mean a child, we were very poor. Our bathroom was outside the house next to the loo.

The bathroom was terrifying to me. The bath stood on legs and I imagined great Cobras coiled up underneath it waiting to strike unwitting bathers. The outlet pipes under the bath simply went through gaping holes in the wall, Any snake could have slithered in. Funny I always imagined Cobras when it would more likely to have been Mambas.

But more terrifying than imagined snakes, was our hot water system. It consisted of a wood burning stove with a water tank on the top. Everyone made a fire in the stove and waited for the water to heat. Trouble is, if the fire was too little and snuffed out before properly heating the water, we got cold baths. If we were generous and “wasted” too much wood to make a larger fire, after ten minutes, on returning to the bathroom to actually run the water, the water tank might be boiling and shooting boiling water and steam out of the overflow pipes so chaotically with terrifying glugs and explosions, it made being attacked by Cobras seem preferable.

I told Mr Furlong about having a bath at our house when I was a kid. He said “Oh, we had a dangerous set up at our house too. We had an electric Geyser bolted on the wall above the bath with the thermostats and electrical wiring under a soup plate sort of cover underneath. Very dangerous.”

I looked at Mr Furlong and thought “Hey, Furlong, you don’t know nothing!”

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

