The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

The haunting face from Eurovision

Leave a comment

If you are a Brit, you probably watched the Eurovision Song Contest.

The Furlongs had their annual watching celebration with Furlong children strewed around the lounge and Furlong grandchildren tucked into bed upstairs.

The winner WAS extraordinary – Conchita Wurst representing Austria performed the song ‘Rise Like a Phoenix’

Wurst, the drag queen, is the alter ego of 25-year-old Thomas Neuwirth.

Her face, can I say her face, or is it his face? haunts me. It looked to me like a Christ face. A Jesus on the cross face, suffering, images that were on the religious cards we circulated amongst the pupils at our convent school, when I was a teenager, along with those of the Blessed Heart and the Virgin Mary.

The androgynous look of the whole Wurst persona confused my eye and triggered emotion. It was the most memorable entry by anyone in the contest.

Wurst

Photo: Frank Augstein, AP

Rise Like a Phoenix lyrics

Waking in the rubble
Walking over glass
Neighbors say we’re trouble
Well that time has passed

Peering from the mirror
No, that isn’t me
Stranger getting nearer
Who can this person be

You wouldn’t know me at all today
From the fading light I fly

Rise like a phoenix
Out of the ashes
Seeking rather than vengeance
Retribution
You were warned
Once I’m transformed
Once I’m reborn
You know I will rise like a phoenix
But you’re my flame

Go about your business
Act as if you’re free
No one could have witnessed
What you did to me

Cause you wouldn’t know me today
And you have got to see
To believe
From the fading light I fly

Rise like a phoenix
Out of the ashes
Seeking rather than vengeance
Retribution
You were warned
Once I’m transformed
Once I’m reborn

I rise up to the sky
You threw me down but
I’m gonna fly

And rise like a phoenix
Out of the ashes
Seeking rather than vengeance
Retribution
You were warned
Once I’m transformed
Once I’m reborn
You know I will rise like a phoenix
But you’re my flame

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

