The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

Restless legs and doggie dreaming

Leave a comment

I actually slept last night! No blogs in the night again. Not from exhaustion, but from sleeping.

I think I’m going to have to refuse to sleep with Mr Furlong anymore. I cannot put my finger on the exact problem of sleeping. Is it me, or is it him? Whatever it is, we used to do well for nearly 40 years. Now its all gone pear shaped. I think we are going to have to part.  Well not part part, but we need new sleeping arrangements.

Mr Furlong is on heavy medication nowadays, and it seems to make him less quiet whilst sleeping. He sort of ripples or twitches sometimes, and makes little flappy movements with his hands just like the Furlong dog does when he’s dreaming and woofing  in doggy dreamland.  I don’t think Mr Furlong sleeps well on his medication. I don’t think that’s good for him – not sleeping properly I mean. Well, actually, I don’t like the many medications he takes either, they being the “one size fits all” of the National Health Service medications menu.

And his restlessness is not good for me either. He wakes me up. He wakes me up by so actively sleeping, and I wake myself up if I have a restless leg night. And recently, nights have been awful.

Instead of starting off in my own bed, last night, I started off on the floor next to the bed on all the duvets, pillows and covers from the linen cupboard. (We had a guest in the guestroom) I slept till 3am. Only then, did I join Mr Furlong. I have found once I have soundly slept, I can more easily get to sleep next to him – as long as we are not touching.

So, life must change. I suspect we would both sleep better apart from each other. Tonight I shall sleep in the vacated guest room in comfort with plenty of leg room and alone – and actually, I’m REALLY looking forward to going to bed!

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

