The Last Furlong

Comments on the race of life.

About The Last Furlong

3 Comments

Marjorie Owen’s painting The Last Furlong heads my blog. I bought this panting just before Marjorie died. She spent her life training horses and illustrating books. She did many Rupert Bear Books.  I feel sad there is so little about her on the Internet. She was a tiny woman who, amazingly to me, worked with huge horses. Her oils of horses were wonderful. And she pleased generations of children with her Rupert pictures. In those Rupert illustrations, Rupert is defined by simplicity of  detail, of what is left out, not by details put in. As a child, I loved Rupert Bear.

In The Last Furlong painting, I can see the same simplicity. This painting, to me, represents how life is. The excitement of it. The loss of little details over the passage of time and in the effort and speed of the race. In the beginning we are bunched up as each generation leaves the starting gate. As we spread out over the furlongs of the route, some in front, some behind, we might notice the other runners’ details briefly in passing or following them. But we are most aware of our own details, for we remain closest to ourselves.

I am in the last furlong of my life. I am wanting to keep up the pace before the wish to achieve anything leaves me.  I might not be the front-runner, nor might I receive ribbons, sashes or glory, but I want to pass the finishing post with as much enthusiasm for life as I can muster.

Rupert

 

Author: thelastfurlong

I'm someone also pounding the Path, just like you.. I'm retired, going into Old Age and loving my life. I'm hoping to remain happy and well for as long as possible. Old Age is not SO bad - yet!

3 thoughts on “About The Last Furlong

  1. Hi there

    What a lovely article and great sentiment about the picture.

    Marjorie was my Auntie Marjorie and I have fond memories of sitting on one of her huge horses at her house and looking at all her Rupert drawings.

    I would love to own a picture of hers. Would you ever think of selling the painting or do you have any others by her?

    Many thanks.

    Jane

    Like

    • Hi Jane, I also have Pigeons in the Park – https://thelastfurlong.wordpress.com/marjorie-owens-art/ My daughter owns Lancaster Canal and i know where 2 other oils are. She was a wonderful artist and I think her work got scattered after she died. That’s a pity. Thanks for you comment. Pleased to meet you!

      Like

      • Pleased to meet you too and it’s great to know her work is so appreciated:-)

        If you know where two of the others paintings are and if they may be willing to part with them I would love to hear.

        Also how lovely that your daughter also has one – is there a pictures of that one anywhere too?

        Pigeons in the park is gorgeous as well isn’t it and I love your interpretation of both paintings.

        Thanks again for the info – and please let me know if you ever hear of any of her work up for sale.

        Best wishes

        Jane

        Like

Please do comment! That's part of the fun...

